St. James

Designer: William Morris, 1834-1896

Weaver: J. O. Nicholson for Morris & Co.

Manufacturer and retailer: Morris & Co.

Designed 1883

Woven silk damask

158.5 x 77.5 cm (62 1/2 X 30 1/2 inches)

This silk damask was one of two designed for Morris & Co.'s second commission for St. James's Palace, the first being the decoration of the Armoury and Tapestry Room in 1866-7. St. James was designed for the curtains of the Blue Room and since it was required in such large quantities it went to J. O. Nicholson to weave. It was also used in a number of private houses decorated by the firm including 1, Holland Park for Alexander Constantine Ionides.