India in 1856

Under Lord Dalhousie (1848-1856) another period of annexation began. The power of the Sikhs was finally broken in the battle of Gujrat (1849) and the Punjab annexed. Satara lapsed to the paramount power in 1848, because the raja died leaving no natural heir. Pegu was annexed after the second Burmese war in 1853. Nagpur lapsed to the ruling power in 1853, there being no heir to the throne on the raja's death. Berar was assigned to the English as payment for the subsidiary force in 1853. Jhansi lapsed to the paramount power in 1853. Oudh was annexed in 1856.

[Click on image to enlarge it.]

Related material

  • India in 1795 (map)
  • India in 1805 (map)
  • The Growth of British Bengal, Asam, and Burma (map)
  • [You may use this image without prior permission for any scholarly or educational purpose as long as you (1) credit the Internet Archive and the University of California and (2) link to this URL in a web document or cite it in a print one.]