India in 1795

In 1795 the boundaries of the Mahratta Confederacy reached their farthest extent. But the same year saw the Mahratta chiefs united for the last time under the banner of the Peshwa at Kurdla.

In 1752 Bhonsle of Nagpur withdrew his garrisons beyond the Painganga, thus restoring the territory between that river and the Godaveri to the Nizam. In 1757 Ahmadabad was finally taken by the Mahrattas, and Gujerat and Kathiawar were henceforth tributary to the Gaekwar, whilst Cutch remained independent.

Commentary continued below

[Click on image to enlarge it.]

Related material

  • India in 1795 (map)
  • India in 1805 (map)
  • The Growth of British Bengal, Asam, and Burma (map)
  • [You may use this image without prior permission for any scholarly or educational purpose as long as you (1) credit the Internet Archive and the University of California and (2) link to this URL in a web document or cite it in a print one.]