Opening of the Cork and Macroom Railway: Arrival of the first train at Macroom. Source: Illustrated London News 1866. [Click on the image to produce a larger picture.]
Article on the same page
The Cork and Macroom Railway, a line of twenty-four miles, starting from a junction with the Bandon Railway, one mile from the city of Cork, was formally opened last Saturday, and has been opened for traffic this week. The oountry through which it passes is fertile and picturesque, and must ultimately produce a large agricultural traffic. The line has been constructed by Mr. Roynane in a most satisfactory manner. There are five intermediate stations, at which the train stops by signal. These, with their respective distances from Cork, are — Ballincollig, 6 3/4 miles; Kilumney, 9 3/8; Kilcrea, 13; Crooks town road, 17; and Dooniskey, 20 1/2 miles. The length of the journey in time is an hour and a quarter. The fares are moderate, being only 3s., 2s., and 1s. 6d. respectively for first, seoond, and third class, between Cork and Macroom, with a fare and a half for first and seoond day return, and 2s. third class return. There are three trains daily, except on Sundays, when the early train is dispensed with. The goods rates are also very reasonable. The rolling stock is of the very best description. The carriages have been built by the Ashbury Company, of Manchester. They are all of teak-wood; roomy and convenient, well ventilated, and abundantly lighted. The engines are by Dubbs and Co., of Glasgow. All the arrangements for traffic appear satisfactory. Our Illustration shows the arrival of the first train at the Macroom terminus.
“The Cork and Macroom Railway.” Illustrated London News. 48 (26 May 1866): 513. Hathi Trust Digital Library version of a copy in the University of Michigan Library. Web. 24 December 2015. The text above was created from the Hathi page images with ABBYY FineReader. — George P. Landow
Last modified 29 December 2015