Between the decline of Palladianism and the rise of the Modern Movement, classical architecture in England went through at least eight phases:

  1. Roman
  2. Greek
  3. Graeco-Roman
  4. Italianate
  5. Baroque
  6. Mannerist
  7. Beaux Arts and
  8. Neo-Georgian

The first three — Roman, Greek, and Graeco-Roman — are late Georgian and Regency; the fourth — Italianate — is early and mid-Victorian; and the last four — Baroque, Mannerist, Beaux Arts and Neo-Georgian are late Victorian and Edwardian.

These phases run parallel to the various stages of the Gothic Revival. Broadly speaking, we call the first three Neo-Classical, and the other five Neo-Renaissance" (Crook, 193).


Crook, J. Mordaunt. The Dilemma of Style: Architectural Ideas from the Picturesque to the Post-Modern. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987.

Entered the Victorian Web 16 July 2001; last modified 27 May 2015