Europe map

Europe in 1815. Click on the image for a larger view

In 1815, Europe comprised a number of different systems of government including autocracies, democracies, constitutional monarchies and countries that were in a state of development. Three main 'zones' may be identified:

Zone 1 — central and eastern Europe, east of a line from Sweden to the Adriatic. This area was made up of four empires that were dominated by absolute monarchs. Because they were autocracies, there was no toleration of Liberal Nationalism because that would have meant the autocrats giving up power and losing territory

Zone 2 — a 'no-man's-land' down the middle of Europe from Denmark through to Naples and Sicily, taking in the whole north-south strip.

Zone 3 — western Europe: the Netherlands, France, Spain, Portugal. All

Last modified 9 May 2002