The development of mediæval architecture in England from the departure of the Romans till the sixteenth century, has a more complete sequence of style than in other countries. It is usually divided into periods having special characteristics and known as Anglo-Saxon, Norman, Early English, Decorated, Perpendicular, and Tudor. — Banister Fletcher, p. 283


Stages of English Gothic and other Medieval Styles

The Evolution of Gothic Vaulting

Open Timber Roofs of the Middle Ages

The Gothic Buttress

The Evolution of Gothic Spires in England

Gothic Doorways and Windows

Carved foliage and other Ornamentation



Fletcher, Banister, and Banister F. Fletcher. A History of Architecture on the Comparative Method for the Student, Craftsman, and Amateur. 5th ed. London: B. T. Batsford, 1905.

Last modified 2 September 2016