Entrance, Waterloo Station (originally Waterloo Bridge Station), London. 1869, 1878, 1885; rebuilt between 1900 and 1922. The initials, L&SWRY (of the London and South Western Railway) appear on each side of the entrance, and below them a list of the places originally served by this line: (left) Middlesex, Surrey, Bucks[hire], Berks[hire], Sussex, Isle-Wight; (right) Hants [Hampshire], Wilts[hire], Dorset, Sonmerset, Devon, and Cornwall.

Photograph 2009 and text by George P. Landow. Thanks to station reception for granting a photography pass. [You may use this image without prior permission for any scholarly or educational purpose as long as you (1) credit the photographer and (2) link your document to this URL.]

Last modified 21 September 2009